Topic: [Help] Gena Win PE 1 rambooting tutorial  (Read 1836 times)

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #20 on: March 02, 2020, 09:20:16 PM »

Lancelot

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Hi Gamma,

I just add a small intro to PC Packed Reply 1
http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=178.msg3182#msg3182
Basic Info About Syntax:

winbuilder is a console/terminal application like cmd.exe,
 the syntax is the same method with batch syntax. (the initial (and correct) name of winbuilder is batcher ..)
   winbuilder was initially created to give UI to the basic options (system.windows.forms) at Bart Lagerweij pebuilder plugins
     + To change options (other than enable disable) with Bart Lagerweij pebuilder plugins one need to edit Plugin files with notepad etc.
     + And to give another method than using .cmd files which were used as part of Bart Lagerweij pebuilder plugins.


Giving example:

test.cmd
Code: [Select]
Set Test=MyTest
Call :MySection
Echo Continue
exit

:MySection
Echo My Section
Echo %Test%
goto :EOF

test.script
Code: [Select]
[Process]
Set,%Test%,MyTest
Run,%ScriptFile%,MySection
Echo,Continue

[MySection]
Echo,"My Section"
Echo,%Test%


Both test.cmd and test.script are doing the same thing.  :thumbsup:

There is only a very small difference:
eg.
+
cmd.exe starts test.cmd with line1 of the file
wb...exe starts test.scirpt with [Process] section
+
cmd.exe use <space> ( ) as syntax seperator
wb...exe use comma (,) as syntax seperator
+
cmd.exe use :blabla to run different parts of .cmd file
wb...exe use [blabla] to run different parts of .script file
+
both cmd.exe and wb...exe use variables with percentage eg. %Test%
+
cmd.exe you can create standalone .cmd files,
wb...exe you can not create standalone .script files
(
that is the reason we do not use generic "script" name for wb files...
    there is no "script" you can use standalone with wb....exe like cmd.exe or other terminal/console files.
    up to project each project have its own Plugins with different names :
      Gena, Azin, SE (1+2+4=7 Projects) -> use Plugin name for wb.. files
      Win10XPE --> use XPEPlugin name  for wb.. files

      As a result it is obvious Plugin and XPEPlugin no compatible,
)

+
cmd.exe has a great set of features with syntax
wb...exe has a very small amount of features
 (from the good side that makes it easy to learn,
    that is the reason there is no complete tutorial about that, no need to.
     from the bad side ..... long story  :lol:)



reading console/terminal files is very straight forward  :wink:
 The learning period is only about reading line by line. :thumbsup:


I hope this helps to your learning period.  :thumbsup:

Have Fun
:turtle:
« Last Edit: March 02, 2020, 09:47:29 PM by Lancelot »

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #21 on: March 03, 2020, 04:29:48 PM »

Gamma

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: Brighton, UK
  • Date Registered: Feb 2020
  • Posts: 54
Hello Lancelot,

Once again, a big thank ! :smile:

I need to start from GUI and gradually move to CLI. To begin with where do I save GUI settings? When I updted Gena, my old settings/preferences (such as including rdp client) were reset to default. How do I save my current choices?

Thank you!
-Gamma

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #22 on: March 03, 2020, 06:18:27 PM »

Gamma

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: Brighton, UK
  • Date Registered: Feb 2020
  • Posts: 54
Ah! Looks like I've got it!! : http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=87.0

Will give it a try. Thanks! :-)

-Gamma

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #23 on: March 07, 2020, 06:22:58 PM »

Lancelot

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Hi Gamma,

To save GUI settings There is

Utils\"Plugin Manager" Plugin written by Galapo ---> http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=84.0

Try if it works for you !

+
There was a minor bug (very rare case)
 which made me disable "Preserve Plugin Settings" with "Update XXX(Exact and Secure)" which uses PluginManager ....

If you do not have error with Utils\"Plugin Manager" Plugin you can use for your goal.  :thumbsup:

:turtle:

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #24 on: March 08, 2020, 12:45:19 PM »

Gamma

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: Brighton, UK
  • Date Registered: Feb 2020
  • Posts: 54
Hi Lancelot,

I could take a backup from 'Utils/Update Gena (Exact and Secure)', and restore from it. At least I have a workaround. But a 'Plugin Manager' would be very convenient. Thanks foryour suggestion.

Btw, how do I add 'Plugin Manager' to my Gena project? I don't see it listed in 'Downloads/Plugin Collection Gena-Sweets'. I tried to download script.project as mentioned here : http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=175.msg4793#msg4793 . Still I do not see any way to make 'plugin manager' appeare. Could you please advise how to proceed?

Thank you for your help.

-Gamma

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #25 on: March 08, 2020, 01:44:17 PM »

Lancelot

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Utils\'PluginManager Plugin

already available with Gena

Gena\Utils\'PluginManager' Plugin

 :confused:

Do you delete plugins  :lol:

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #26 on: March 08, 2020, 02:25:54 PM »

Malok

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: Canada
  • Date Registered: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 202
PluginManager currently Hidden in project.

changed Projects\Gena\Utils\!PluginManager.script

Level=0

to

Level=10

To be able to view  :wink:


Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #27 on: March 08, 2020, 02:30:44 PM »

Gamma

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: Brighton, UK
  • Date Registered: Feb 2020
  • Posts: 54
Thanks Malok!

Now I run 'Uitls/Update Gena', right ?

Thanks!
-Gamma

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #28 on: March 08, 2020, 03:19:35 PM »

Malok

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: Canada
  • Date Registered: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 202
I you have success creating a backup you can test if you are able to restore after upgrading Gena.

Then verify if your settings are ok and everything works as expected...

Personal note on Backup:

If it is hidden in project... There is a reason for that.... Upgrading always disturb things ...

Better Start Project... Update... then do settings... test everything you need. Before going to play with boot settings.

Once all set remove iso, temp, Target, Plugin cache and logs content... Use 7z to pack a backup of you project...

It makes big files tho, but the integrity of your project is insured. and everything is there...

Then start fiddling with startup and boot settings, if something goes very wrong you can restore in minutes to your current backup.

Takes 20 minutes to pack on my Laptop. Saves a lot of time if problem occurs.

Edit:
Also having a R&D and Prod version is advisable keep backup of both. test and create new things in R&D when working integrate in your Prod version
to keep it as clean as possible.

 :thumbsup:
« Last Edit: March 08, 2020, 03:36:18 PM by Malok »

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #29 on: March 08, 2020, 06:39:58 PM »

Lancelot

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Thanks Malok,

My mistake  :embarrassed:


If it is hidden in project... There is a reason for that.... Upgrading always disturb things ...
Well, I am the one who hide after finding a bug or 2... but forgot I hide ...
 ( Since this is critically important (backup/restore) I keep on the safe side)
    and wrote detail info (probably with reproducible ways) to Galapo.... (short info on history notes)
      Since not fixed I disable PluginManager, still waiting for Galapo to fix (1 year passed)

shortly: @Gamma : if it works for you to use "Create" - "Restore" buttons on \Utils\PluginManager, if you see an error do not use ...

+
Just to clear Malok steps  :thumbsup:
Better Start Project... Update... ---> at very first (after extracting) using Utils\Update XXX (Exact and Secure) is the best way for experienced users....


+
To Pack projects I wrote "Pack Projects" Plugin long time ago :
http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=1874.0

It requires some experience to use "Pack Projects" Plugin but after that, it should work fine. ( I am sure Malok will quickly figure out)

I create some packages with "Pack Projects" Plugin for others from time to time in the past...

*
Overall,
After spending some time You will quickly figure out Gamma  :thumbsup:

:turtle:

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #30 on: March 08, 2020, 08:36:50 PM »

Gamma

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: Brighton, UK
  • Date Registered: Feb 2020
  • Posts: 54
Hello Lancelot and Malok!

Thank you for your guidance! I appreciate your quick replies.  :great:

I changed the level and 'Utils/Plugin Manager' is now visible. I took the PluginManager's backup. The script ended in 'array out of bounds' error. But the ini file is created and looks ok. Then I changed some settings and restored from the same ini file. I was expecting the changed settings to be restored to old ones. However, some settings stayed the same, indicating the backup-restore process is not working well.

So, I've decided to use the backup taken via 'copy project folders' option from 'Utils/Update Gena (Exact and Secure)'. That looks most reliable to me. :-)

Thank you both for your time and attention. :-)

-Gamma

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #31 on: March 09, 2020, 02:40:55 PM »

Lancelot

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Hi Gamma,

Sorry for failure,
we have to wait for Galapo fix PluginManager http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=84.0
change back to Level=0 and do not use again till fixed.

When Galapo fix PluginManager, Plugin will revert back to Level=10
so In the future after an update when you see Utils\PluginManager you will know it is fixed.  :wink:

*
So, I've decided to use the backup taken via 'copy project folders' option from 'Utils/Update Gena (Exact and Secure)'. That looks most reliable to me. :-)
It was not designed for that,
 when you update project (Update (Download + Copy)), it will revert all plugins back to default settings.
  ....... further on your hands

+
also see "Pack Projects" Plugin mentioned before : http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=1874.0

+
just an idea:
Copy (not rename) folder:
\Projects\Gena\
-->
\Projects\Gena_Backup\

AND
\Projects\Gena_Backup\script.project
[Main]
Title=Gena
--->
[Main]
Title=Gena Backup

restart builder....

Continue use \Gena\ to build
And you have a backup at \Gena Backup\

so when you update project,
Gena\Utils\Update XXX (Exact and Secure) ---> 'Update (Download + Copy' Button
OR
by extracting the latest package (zip)

You can open 2 builder (double click BuildGena.exe 2 times ;))

and on Windows visually and manually change \Gena\ to personal settings.....

ps: do not build with \"Gena Backup" , never tested such a thing.

**
Shortly,
You need a method to update plugins on the server(s) and save settings,
Sometimes the servers are very hot, sometimes very cold

After this topic yesterday http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=3088.0
I update ~30 Plugins I guess ~8 of them on Gena ...

Edit:
*
I create a plugin to be used with "Gena Backup" to prevent accidental usage

Call,DownloadX,"%BaseDir%\Projects\Yomi\ay_Halt_L1.Script"
See: Downloading Plugins with a CodeBox
*
Maybe a Plugin to create <Project>_Backup in future ....

:turtle:
« Last Edit: March 10, 2020, 03:08:34 PM by Lancelot »

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #32 on: March 09, 2020, 09:57:46 PM »

Gamma

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: Brighton, UK
  • Date Registered: Feb 2020
  • Posts: 54
Hello Lancelot!

C'mon, don't be so apologetic!  :smile: You've been of immense help. Failures are everywhere. I just happen to attract one. Nothing serious. In fact this was my first contribution to theoven.org.  :yahoo: Though it's merely an error report.  :cancan:

You said :
Quote
It was not designed for that,

I didn't realise that! Thanks for alerting me! In this context, your renaming idea is certainly worth considering.

I've got another problem. The wifi (Ralink Wireless LAN Card V2) is not working.

netsh i s i

shows nothing. Absolute blank! But the 'Device Manager' shows Ralink wifi adapter is installed. So, to refresh the driver, I tried to import the *.inf file manually using Driver-Import-PE (ver 4.1). But got an error saying 'The driver needs bus-driver'.

Am I missing something fundmental? Should I open a new issue?

Thank you again for your help.
-Gamma

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #33 on: March 10, 2020, 03:16:55 PM »

Lancelot

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Hi Gamma,

*
Related to Reply31-32 current topic http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=3079.msg36835#msg36835
(I slightly edit my Reply31)

I create a plugin to be used with your "Gena Backup" or "Gena Gamma" to prevent accidental usage

Call,DownloadX,"%BaseDir%\Projects\Yomi\ay_Halt_L1.Script"
See: Downloading Plugins with a CodeBox

use CodeBox under "Gena Backup" or "Gena Gamma", and enable plugin,
 This way if you accidentally click BigBluePlay under "Gena Backup" or "Gena Gamma" it will quickly stop (halt) the build.  :wink:

*
Thanks for the new word, apologetic  :cool: :thumbsup:


*
I need time to test Gena with wifi ... , I never use Gena with wifi before ... I will post here when something found ...

Maybe:
If you have an installed XP/2k3 on your disk with working wifi, Dipe (Driver Import PE) can take drivers including bus drivers ...
 Vista drivers not always compatible  :wink:

:turtle:

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #34 on: March 10, 2020, 08:52:11 PM »

Gamma

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: Brighton, UK
  • Date Registered: Feb 2020
  • Posts: 54
Hi Lancelot,

Thanks a ton for your suggestions. Installing a win2k3 instance on an hd is a worthwhile effort. For the sake of the wifi driver, I mean.

I found an ASUS utility that installs the driver via setup.exe, but needs rebooting. For that, I was about to convert the PE1 iso to flatboot. But let me check with win2k3 install first.  :thumbsup:

Regarding the "Gena Backup" plugin you wrote, I appreciate your efforts. But I need to wrap my head around the backup process. I will go through your writeup again till I understand it.

Thank you again! :-)

-Gamma

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #35 on: March 11, 2020, 02:29:48 PM »

Gamma

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: Brighton, UK
  • Date Registered: Feb 2020
  • Posts: 54
Hi Lancelot,

About the wifi, I found that netsh is working, but wlan option is not available. Further investigation led me to find that Wireless Zero Config (netwzc) Service is not installed. This service presumably detects the wifi adapter and lists the available ssids.

I found a netwzc.inf file in x:\i386\inf folder. This driver should install the WZC service. However the DIPE says 'No or Wrong device driver'. I also found netwzc.in_ zip file in win 2003 source folder. it has only one file netwzc.inf, which is expanded and included in x:\i386\inf folder.

If this driver is wrong as per DIPE, where do I hunt for the correct driver? Any ideas?

Thank you!

-Gamma

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #36 on: March 11, 2020, 05:18:05 PM »

Malok

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: Canada
  • Date Registered: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 202
Hi Gamma,

The WZC service is not required to get WIFI working.

Use PENetwork Manager to configure your Wifi card.

If the Card appears in Device Manager PENM should be able to use it..

You can also create profiles to automatically configure WIFI at startup with PENM.


Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #37 on: March 13, 2020, 11:32:54 AM »

Gamma

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: Brighton, UK
  • Date Registered: Feb 2020
  • Posts: 54
Hello Malok,

Thank you for your suggestion. Howeve, I still face a problem.

The Device Manager says Ralink wifi is installed and working properly. But PENM says wifi not installed. Something is missing in my setup. Here is the screenshot.



Where do I begin my investigation?

Thank you and have a nice weekend ! :-)

-Gamma


Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #38 on: March 13, 2020, 11:59:40 AM »

Lancelot

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Hi Gamma,

I bought a usb-wireless (TP-Link TL-WN823N - v2) to quick test
https://www.tp-link.com/us/search/?q=TL-WN823N&t=product&s=MODEL

I never use wireless when I use XP/2k Win7   :whistling:
(In fact, I do not use the internet with PE anyway, at most rarely via LAN,
 the subject is not my focus at all, only curiosity)

I do not see your screenshot, Here are things I figure out :

Wireless Zero Configuration ( wzcsvc ) service
required to start wifi

Driver Installation with Dipe probably gives bus error because of this,
(or like wzcsvc some other dependency service missing)
 Using Device Manager you can install Driver,
  (here: Device Manager - Other Devices - 802.11n NIC )
    Still, It will not appear on PENetwork Card list ;) (probably without wzcsvc .... )


Definition of issue is:
Gena-Win2k3 do not have wzcsvc (or can not make it work ;))

Further tests, I never could make my USB-wireless connect to the internet even work on Vmware-XP/2k3-Virtual  :lol:
 Driver Installed  :thumbsup:
  But I can not connect the internet using Wifi, even with PeNetwork.

Both ways (win & penetwork) I could connect to router (Password correct) but not internet....
 Following Internet Info, where the say change router settings... , I did not change my router current setting (wpa2) .....

....

Well, I do not know wi-fi things, only I can test now after years, further on the others hand

:turtle:

Re: [Help] Gena Win PE 2/3 rambooting tutorial
« Reply #39 on: March 13, 2020, 09:11:06 PM »

Gamma

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: Brighton, UK
  • Date Registered: Feb 2020
  • Posts: 54
Hi Lancelot,

I can't thank you enough for taking so much efforts for me! :-)

In fact someone already achieved a wifi connection on WinPE1. Here is the link : http://reboot.pro/topic/976-scriptpenetwork/page-23#entry147008

I followed the above steps and successfully installed ms_ndisuio component. However still I can't enable wifi. Maybe I need to install wzcsvc service. I could see that the resources needed for wzcsvc are all present in ....\i386 folder. But I am a complete newbie. Need to try out the things.

Maybe use old PENM ....? Will try out and keep you guys posted.

BTW, is there any way to install ms_ndisuio protocol before PE boots?

Thank you once again!

-Gamma

 

Powered by EzPortal