Topic: wpe-core.exe stop responding  (Read 14677 times)

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #20 on: January 22, 2013, 08:50:34 PM »

Galapo

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: Australia
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 2207
Hi cobraman,

Thanks for your help in identifying the problem and working at the solution. I'll test you code a bit later today.

Thanks,
Galapo.

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #21 on: January 22, 2013, 11:48:01 PM »

Galapo

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: Australia
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 2207
Hi Lancelot,

cobraman's code seems to have fixed the issue with the buffer overrun.

But now we're geting errors with lines like this from the Profile Create Folders plugin:

Code: [Select]
If,ExistFile,"%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini",ShellExecute,Hide,attrib.exe,"-S -H #$q%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini#$q"
Else,FileCreateBlank,"%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini"

Updated wpe-core to test: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/3801579/temp/wpe-core.7z

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Galapo.

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #22 on: January 23, 2013, 01:57:47 AM »

cobraman

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 55
using code
Code: [Select]
Set,%tmpDir%,"%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools"
Set,%tmpFile%,"%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini"
If,Not,ExistDir,%tmpDir%,DirMake,%tmpDir%
If,ExistFile,%tmpFile%,ShellExecute,Hide,attrib.exe,"-S -H #$q%tmpFile%#$q"
Else,FileCreateBlank,%tmpFile%
IniWrite,%tmpFile%,.ShellClassInfo,LocalizedResourceName,@shell32.dll#$c-21788
ShellExecute,Hide,attrib.exe,"+S +H #$q%tmpFile%#$q"
ShellExecute,Hide,attrib.exe,"+S +R #$q%tmpDir%#$q"

to replace
Code: [Select]
If,Not,ExistDir,"%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools",DirMake,"%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools"
If,ExistFile,"%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini",ShellExecute,Hide,attrib.exe,"-S -H #$q%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini#$q"
Else,FileCreateBlank,"%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini"
IniWrite,"%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini",.ShellClassInfo,LocalizedResourceName,@shell32.dll#$c-21788
ShellExecute,Hide,attrib.exe,"+S +H #$q%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini#$q"
ShellExecute,Hide,attrib.exe,"+S +R #$q%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools#$q"

can fix this error.



Because WinBuilder error exapnd the following command, there is one extra double-quote at the end

FileCreateBlank,"%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini"



Code like  %TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini are everywhere in winbuilder project.
Correctness of the rest of part is in doubt.


So build project in Traditional Chinese XP host seems not a good idea.


Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #23 on: January 23, 2013, 02:20:13 AM »

Galapo

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: Australia
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 2207
Oh dear I hate these WB bugs! :frusty:

It seems dropping the quotes from the original lines works. Changing this

Code: [Select]
Else,FileCreateBlank,"%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini"
IniWrite,"%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini",.ShellClassInfo,LocalizedResourceName,@shell32.dll#$c-21788

to this

Code: [Select]
Else,FileCreateBlank,%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini
IniWrite,%TargetProfilesBaseDir%\%PB%\%DU%\%StartMenu%\%Programs%\System Tools\desktop.ini,.ShellClassInfo,LocalizedResourceName,@shell32.dll#$c-21788

It's interesting that this quote-dropping is not needed under other non-Chinese host systems.

I'd like Lancelot's thoughts on all of this when he comes around. He's done a lot of work over the years on localisation of names and so on.

We will get a tidy solution to build under Traditional Chinese host, I'm sure. Thanks to your reporting, solution-finding, and testing. :great:

Regards,
Galapo.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2013, 02:22:46 AM by Galapo »

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #24 on: January 23, 2013, 04:52:48 AM »

Lancelot

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Oh dear I hate these WB bugs! :frusty:
who does not :frusty:

But good part, I was already prepared for such conditions when working on this some years ago  :thumbsup:
You know I like "safety"  :cool:

When we have a better batch utility for builds, we can do more....


@cobraman
here is an update
Gena\Basic\Build\"3 - Profile 1 Prepare.Script"
http://www.sendspace.com/file/arn6c8
(also on Gena server)

after disableing MMC, you will be able to build under Traditional Chinese host with Chinese source  :thumbsup:

MMC may also be fixed easly with your findings,
 I believe same fix on wpe-core required at MscTitle.exe, if one of you can take a quick look at....


And All will work nicely  :thumbsup:
« Last Edit: January 23, 2013, 05:14:31 AM by Lancelot »

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #25 on: January 23, 2013, 06:31:05 AM »

Lancelot

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
update:
msctitle works ok  :thumbsup: (nothing to fix there)
mmc plugin also works ok if you disable all shortcut options  :thumbsup:

@Galapo
 
Code: [Select]
If,Not,%pCheckBox8%%pCheckBox10%,Equal,FalseFalse,Add_Shortcut,StartMenu,%StartMenuFolder%,"#$pSystemRoot#$p\system32\#1",%MscTitleAppTitleVar%

line do not work ok, I mayyy fix this via mmc (there is already a solution I had made there ;)),
besides
Message,%MscTitleAppTitleVar%,Information
before this line shows correct, so maybe same info can be used by FreeShc.exe , or not  ?

I will follow your results on mmc  :thumbsup:

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #26 on: January 23, 2013, 06:41:18 AM »

Galapo

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: Australia
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 2207
Is the variable passed to the Macro Library plugin, or it simply stalls at the line in MMC plugin?

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #27 on: January 23, 2013, 06:54:02 AM »

Lancelot

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
nice catch indeed  ( Answer: no ) :thumbsup: why didn't I thought  :w00t: I feel I am a bit dizzy these days  :lol:

I will update mmc and inform here  :great:

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #28 on: January 23, 2013, 08:23:57 AM »

Lancelot

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
here is an update
Gena\Components\Core\1 System\"MMC"
http://www.sendspace.com/file/3jxdg1
(also on Gena server)

So far, Chinese host with Chinese source troubles seems fixed  :lol:

Thanks cobraman , Waiting your nice results I hope you find more stuff  :thumbsup:

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #29 on: January 23, 2013, 11:59:36 AM »

cobraman

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 55
This my New Testting

Project : Gena_Appetizer (unmodify)
Host XPSP3-en-us + Source:XPSP3-zh-tw
Build : Success
Target ISO Test in VMWare : Shell frozen after I open and close "My Computer"

Project : Gena_Appetizer + new 3 - Profile 1 Prepare.Script + new wpe-core.exe
Host XPSP3-zh-tw + Source:XPSP3-zh-tw
Build : Success
Target ISO Test in VMWare : Shell frozen after I open and close "My Computer"

Project : Gena_Meal + new 3 - Profile 1 Prepare.Script + new wpe-core.exe + new MMC.script
Host XPSP3-zh-tw + Source:XPSP3-zh-tw
Build : Success
Target ISO Test in VMWare : work great(I love it) :thumbsup:


why Gena_Appetizer can not work fine

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #30 on: January 23, 2013, 06:15:59 PM »

Lancelot

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Project : Gena_Appetizer (unmodify)
Host XPSP3-en-us + Source:XPSP3-zh-tw
Build : Success
Target ISO Test in VMWare : Shell frozen after I open and close "My Computer"

Hi cobraman,
Yep I confirm, this happens on xpsp3-zh-tw source but not 2k3sp2-zh-tw source,
 missed from eyes since I had used 2k3 sources when working on Extended Language sources some years ago and even recently...  :embarrassed:


Further, closing explorer from taskmanager and running again fixes !!!
I remember this trouble in very history, Galapo highly probably remember better...

Maybe JFX can give a hand, since Explorer is one of his expertise...





Meanwhile here are some tips:

Tip:
Appetizer is simply: Default Basic plugins + CreateISO

Also there is: \Gena\Utils\"ScriptManager" --> Scrollbox near Restore  :wink:

I feel zip packages will also updated soon, maybe weekend , following your further findings :wink:

Tip:
on current builder, right top, there is download button, where you can download updated plugins,
this does not work perfect .... , but only good if you are quickly catching new stuff ;)
for a full update which works perfect, there is
Gena\Utils\"Update Gena (Exact and Secure)" (First See Tip at the bottom of http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=159 )

Tip:
you can use Basic\Xerox\BackupRestore
on your tests, to test things faster .... :wink:

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #31 on: January 23, 2013, 11:55:13 PM »

Galapo

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: Australia
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 2207
Further, closing explorer from taskmanager and running again fixes !!!
I remember this trouble in very history, Galapo highly probably remember better...

No, I cannot remember.

Thankfully, cobraman reports that Gena_Meal + new 3 - Profile 1 Prepare.Script + new wpe-core.exe + new MMC.script is working.

I tested 2k3sp2-zh-tw source, you've done a great job, OS shortcuts and folders are showing with Chinese characters nicely.

Regards,
Galapo.

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #32 on: January 24, 2013, 08:33:57 AM »

cobraman

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 55
Why there are so many files remain compressed? is it correct?

ila_rendered

Thank both of you.

I will keep testting,feedback if I found some.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2013, 08:58:55 AM by cobraman »

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #33 on: January 24, 2013, 08:45:36 AM »

Lancelot

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Hi cobraman,

new Explorer plugin on server,
Source:XPSP3-x86-zh-tw - Shell frozen after I open and close "My Computer" --> Fixed  :thumbsup:

out of this subject, new mmc on server too, with minor fix  :wink:

compressed files are loaded by system at verrrry early boot,
 that is the reason they remain compressed in order not to waste space...  :great:

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #34 on: January 24, 2013, 09:03:05 AM »

cobraman

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 55
Great  :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
Good Job  :great: :great: :great:

sorry My bad English.

I can not clear and short description what I mean.

I will test it later and report.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2013, 10:59:40 AM by cobraman »

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #35 on: January 24, 2013, 10:10:35 AM »

cobraman

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 55
Project : Gena_Appetizer + 3 - Profile 1 Prepare.Script + wpe-core.exe + explorer.script
Host XPSP3-zh-tw + Source:XPSP3-zh-tw
Build : Success
Target ISO Test In VMWare : Work fine.


Just confirm, Compresed files in system32/drivers is unsed ?


History066=Lancelot Yet another stupid winbuilder bug workaround :tongue:
« Last Edit: January 24, 2013, 10:14:23 AM by cobraman »

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #36 on: January 24, 2013, 10:12:23 AM »

Lancelot

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Thanks for confirmation  :thumbsup:


Just confirm, Compresed files in system32/drivers is unsed ?
No,
They are used  :thumbsup:
Don't worry about them  :great:

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #37 on: January 24, 2013, 10:55:12 AM »

Galapo

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: Australia
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 2207
Most of the compressed files are due to using the mass storage drivers plugin. If you are not needing to support these in the build, then disable it.

The plugin simple makes use of the DriverPacks.net integration. They know which drivers can and should be compressed. setupldr has a memory limit, and using compressed mass storage drivers you can load more drivers than you would be able to otherwise.

Hope this helps. Further information I guess should be available at the DriverPacks forum.

Regards,
Galapo.

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #38 on: January 24, 2013, 11:51:38 AM »

cobraman

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 55
Project : Gena_Meal + 3 - Profile 1 Prepare.Script + wpe-core.exe + Explorer.script + MMC.script
Host XPSP3-zh-tw + Source:XPSP3-zh-tw
Build : Success
Target ISO Test in VMWare : work great

This is a hard and perfect Project, I deeply appreciate participators of this project.

In Taiwan, It is hard to make our PE, I think many people will be very happly now.

I will remain test and report if I found some.

Thanks all of you again.

Re: wpe-core.exe stop responding
« Reply #39 on: January 24, 2013, 11:56:51 AM »

Galapo

  • Moderator, Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: Australia
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 2207
Thanks cobraman. :great: Feedback is how things can progress.

I'm glad we've been able to get your source to build under your normal OS.

Regards,
Galapo.

 

Powered by EzPortal