Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
Did you miss your
activation email
?
May 29, 2021, 11:57:06 AM
Home
Forum Rules
Active Topics
Login
Register
Plugin World
»
General Plugins
»
Plugins
»
Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - PE8/10 (x86/x64)
« previous
next »
Print
Pages: [
1
]
2
Topic: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - PE8/10 (x86/x64) (Read 6447 times)
Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - PE8/10 (x86/x64)
«
on:
April 13, 2018, 12:43:58 AM »
bob.omb
Code Baker
Grand Chef
Location: USA
Date Registered: Jul 2017
Posts: 1261
Plugin increases System Drive (X:) beyond 512mb limit.
Options Include:
768mb
-
1024mb
-
2048mb
(x86 max 1024mb)
Place plugin in %BaseDir%\Projects\MyPlugins_Direct\TweaksMy
(Create if it doesn't exist)
Enjoy!
X_Drive_Size_Increase_Plugin_Bob.Omb_v1:
https://mega.nz/#!9rRDCAxL!5C3eKCNqNKgMG_7ArTxwEMkLctWhFrCnYCt7Op6D_8M
<== Uses Windows 8 Embedded FBWF.sys for 8PE/10PESE projects (Supports Symlinks and Junctions)
X_Drive_Size_Increase_Plugin_Bob.Omb_v2:
https://mega.nz/#!InQlhIyJ!6yKXETIAfs9szasFDaFYz56K9Jtc6SQkSQs9oFQ5m1o
<== Uses Windows 10 FBWF.sys when Win10PESEx64 is detected (Provides a more stable build, but does not support Symlinks or Junctions - 10PESE v1803 only and all 8PE)
Thanks to Nikzzzz for v2 - Credit given in plugin.
«
Last Edit: January 18, 2019, 03:08:35 AM by bob.omb
»
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - PESE8/PE8.1/PESE10 (x86/x64)
«
Reply #1 on:
April 13, 2018, 01:27:39 AM »
James
Grand Chef
Location: USA
Date Registered: Dec 2017
Posts: 2272
Keep in mind the amount of Ram a PC may have..
My Project expanded is almost 4 GB
Then add in 2 GB of usable ram disk space
I need a PC with 6GB Minimum Ram to Load X
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - PESE8/PE8.1/PESE10 (x86/x64)
«
Reply #2 on:
April 13, 2018, 01:34:33 AM »
bob.omb
Code Baker
Grand Chef
Location: USA
Date Registered: Jul 2017
Posts: 1261
My WIM is 2gb expanded and I have the plugin set to 1024mb , so regardless my requirement is 3gb, now I just use all of it instead of 2.5...
Even if set to 2gb you will only have issues if you fill the X:\ up... the ramdrive is compressed, and then it will be a "Low System Memory" warning.. at which point which you will know what you did to yourself
9 times out of 10 this should extend your sessions life...unless your working on older equipment or your WIM is massive
but I know why you load apps to the WIM and it is a good reason..
And as a side note I do recommend using max 1024mb for anyone using this plugin with Win10PESE, for the exact reasons James is warning all of us.. You should only be using 2048 for specialized purposes.
«
Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 04:17:25 AM by bob.omb
»
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - PESE8/PE8.1/PESE10 (x86/x64)
«
Reply #3 on:
April 13, 2018, 01:48:41 AM »
0scar
Code Baker
Chef
Date Registered: Jan 2013
Posts: 309
Till now Win10PESE supports only 512, that is why FBWF cache size cannot be changed in its interface, or is there something new about this?
In Win 7 and 8.1 may be changed in Build Shell and Config as always.
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - WinPESE10 (x86/x64)
«
Reply #4 on:
April 13, 2018, 01:50:14 AM »
bob.omb
Code Baker
Grand Chef
Location: USA
Date Registered: Jul 2017
Posts: 1261
Win10PE does have a 512mb limit, this is an old ninja move..
thanks to some very smart people..
Updated thread title..
«
Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 02:19:41 AM by bob.omb
»
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #5 on:
April 13, 2018, 04:20:41 AM »
James
Grand Chef
Location: USA
Date Registered: Dec 2017
Posts: 2272
Bob
Just to add a little protection if 2048 selected while using x86 Source
Plugin will default to 1024
Code:
[Select]
[Process]
If,%SourceArch%,Equal,x86,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,x86,fbwf.sys,%Target_Sys%\Drivers
If,%SourceArch%,Equal,x64,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,x64,fbwf.sys,%Target_Sys%\Drivers
//
If,%pScrollBox1%,Equal,768,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,768,fbwf.cfg,%TargetDir%\Windows
If,%pScrollBox1%,Equal,1024,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,1024,fbwf.cfg,%TargetDir%\Windows
If,%pScrollBox1%-%SourceArch%,Equal,2048-x64,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,2048,fbwf.cfg,%TargetDir%\Windows
If,%pScrollBox1%-%SourceArch%,Equal,2048-x86,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,1024,fbwf.cfg,%TargetDir%\Windows
«
Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 04:22:01 AM by James
»
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #6 on:
April 13, 2018, 04:25:59 AM »
bob.omb
Code Baker
Grand Chef
Location: USA
Date Registered: Jul 2017
Posts: 1261
Fixed in OP. Thanks
that's way better...
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #7 on:
April 13, 2018, 02:12:26 PM »
teik
Chef
Date Registered: Nov 2016
Posts: 250
I've tried it and it works well. What do you base yourself on knowing what the limit would be? I for example have 6 gigs of ram and I have tried with the maximum of the script.
Greetings.
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #8 on:
April 13, 2018, 10:03:30 PM »
bob.omb
Code Baker
Grand Chef
Location: USA
Date Registered: Jul 2017
Posts: 1261
To find out your requirements....
Extract your WIM to a folder and right click that folder and click properties to see your extracted WIM size
Your WIM size --->?GB + Your X: Setting (2gb) So if your extracted wim is 2gb and your x:\ is 2gb = 4 +1more of actual RAM for the system - you need at least 5gb of ram for error free use if you stress the USB to its max. in case you fill your X:\ up you will need that extra gig for operation....
So in short if your extracted WIM is 2gb and you set to 1gb X:\ then you will need 3gb +1 for operation which adds up to 4..... So as you can see its much more compatible NOT to use 2gb and to use 1gb with most machines because 4gb will be enough to do anything without ever getting low mem errors. And 4gb is kind of the
minimum
amount you will find on almost everything nowadays...
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #9 on:
April 13, 2018, 10:25:25 PM »
James
Grand Chef
Location: USA
Date Registered: Dec 2017
Posts: 2272
Thus the Ram Requirements for loading a boot.wim vs. Actual Ram available to System
Lead to the creation of Y drive programs folder.
Thus program files are loaded/run from USB Drive "Y" and not loaded into Memory Drive "X"
freeing up Ram Memory
«
Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 10:27:39 PM by James
»
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #10 on:
April 16, 2018, 08:14:44 AM »
teik
Chef
Date Registered: Nov 2016
Posts: 250
Hi @
bob.omb
and @
James
Thank you very much to both of you for your explanation. I did not know how to calculate it. I have 6 gigs of ram and I put two in the script and I thought it was a bit slow. Everything was because my wim (decompressed) weighed almost 3 gigas.
Now I know that I will lower a jig in the script and thus be able to go more fluid.
Greetings and thanks again to both of you.
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #11 on:
May 03, 2018, 10:25:22 PM »
cretino
Chef
Date Registered: Jan 2018
Posts: 240
hi bob.omb
change this line in your plugin
Code:
[Select]
If,%pScrollBox1%-%SourceArch%,Equal,2048-x86,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,1048,fbwf.cfg,%TargetDir%\Windows
with
Code:
[Select]
If,%pScrollBox1%-%SourceArch%,Equal,2048-x86,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,1024,fbwf.cfg,%TargetDir%\Windows
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #12 on:
May 03, 2018, 11:43:50 PM »
thamermousa
Jr. Chef
Date Registered: May 2016
Posts: 28
I did not understand what is the purpose of it
Both the two things And This
Code:
[Select]
If,%pScrollBox1%,Equal,768,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,768,fbwf.cfg,%TargetDir%\Windows
If,%pScrollBox1%,Equal,1024,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,1024,fbwf.cfg,%TargetDir%\Windows
If,%pScrollBox1%,Equal,2048,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,2048,fbwf.cfg,%TargetDir%\Windows
If,%pScrollBox1%,Equal,3072,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,3072,fbwf.cfg,%TargetDir%\Windows
If,%pScrollBox1%-%SourceArch%,Equal,2048-x64,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,2048,fbwf.cfg,%TargetDir%\Windows
If,%pScrollBox1%-%SourceArch%,Equal,2048-x86,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,1024,fbwf.cfg,%TargetDir%\Windows
If,%pScrollBox1%-%SourceArch%,Equal,3072-x64,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,3072,fbwf.cfg,%TargetDir%\Windows
If,%pScrollBox1%-%SourceArch%,Equal,3072-x86,ExtractFile,%ScriptFile%,2048,fbwf.cfg,%TargetDir%\Windows
3072 * I chose this
2048
1024
768
It gives me extra space in the discs , x:\ And y:\ , But it does not give me the actual size , Note I have 3 GB RAM
Is there an urgent need for it?
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #13 on:
May 04, 2018, 02:16:56 AM »
bob.omb
Code Baker
Grand Chef
Location: USA
Date Registered: Jul 2017
Posts: 1261
1.) It should only make X:\ bigger
2.) It is dynamic, if you have a small amount of ram and use too much disk space you will get a low ram warning...
3.) It is not needed at all. If you use PE in longer sessions and browse the web, do tasks that create temporary files, or download from the web or across a network, the extra overhead is nice to have.. It all depends if you have very little ram on certain machines its still safe to use and is better on most newer machines..
4.) I did not include the FBWF.SYS for 3072 but if you have a good one it should be fine to use..(Check your code on your last line, you forgot to remove the 2048)
«
Last Edit: May 04, 2018, 02:17:44 AM by bob.omb
»
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #14 on:
May 04, 2018, 10:33:34 AM »
thamermousa
Jr. Chef
Date Registered: May 2016
Posts: 28
Yes, I understood you
For the last line
Well I will change it
Thank you bob.omb
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #15 on:
May 04, 2018, 11:13:02 PM »
bob.omb
Code Baker
Grand Chef
Location: USA
Date Registered: Jul 2017
Posts: 1261
Make sure you change it to 1024 because x86 supports max 1024, that's why there are special lines for x86 above the 1024 size
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #16 on:
May 05, 2018, 01:04:34 AM »
thamermousa
Jr. Chef
Date Registered: May 2016
Posts: 28
I understand you , But I do not use x86 , use only x64 ,
Will there be a problem with x64
Thank bob.omb On your interest
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #17 on:
May 05, 2018, 03:18:03 AM »
bob.omb
Code Baker
Grand Chef
Location: USA
Date Registered: Jul 2017
Posts: 1261
no, x64 will work fine up to any size
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #18 on:
May 05, 2018, 11:52:16 AM »
James
Grand Chef
Location: USA
Date Registered: Dec 2017
Posts: 2272
I Added option to Increase of FBWF Size following Bob.omb into >
2 - Shell & Config Plugin (Build / 2-Config.script)
Changed version number to 95 to show new revision
2-Config.script
(4225.7 kB - downloaded 246 times.)
«
Last Edit: May 05, 2018, 12:05:30 PM by James
»
Re: Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - Win10PESE (x86/x64)
«
Reply #19 on:
May 05, 2018, 01:12:35 PM »
thamermousa
Jr. Chef
Date Registered: May 2016
Posts: 28
Use this long time ago , And there is the subject of a related , But do not mention the link , I have no problems in using them , Note Ram I have 3 GB
Code:
[Select]
[Interface_Save]
ScrollBox_Fbwf=1024,1536,2048,2560,3072,4096,5120,1,4,117,19,67,21,32,64,96,128,256,512,768,1024,1536,2048,2560,3072,4096,5120,_FBWFCacheSize_,True
[Interface]
ScrollBox_Fbwf=5120,1,4,117,19,67,21,128,256,512,768,1024,1536,2048,2560,3072,4096,5120,_FBWFCacheSize_,True
look at the picture
Print
Pages: [
1
]
2
« previous
next »
Plugin World
»
General Plugins
»
Plugins
»
Increase System Drive (X:) Size - Plugin - PE8/10 (x86/x64)
Powered by
EzPortal