Topic: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.  (Read 41424 times)

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #20 on: April 16, 2011, 04:15:16 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Thanks a lot homes32,

capture so far very good for my personal tasks....  :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
no stuck effect when wim compressing 800MB  :thumbsup:
only when compressing 4gb stuck effect at %1 besides compression continues like you mention (only reporting)

Thanks a lot, this is exactly the tool I need  :cheers:

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #21 on: April 20, 2011, 02:31:37 PM »

Homes32

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 177

I still have the same problem with wimgapi 6.0 and wimfltr.
I do not understand the reason of ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND (0x2)

wimfltr is installed on my win7x64 hostOS and I have, in the same folder, imagex.exe, wimgapi.dll (6.0) and WimUtil
The same command line with imagex works
E:\WimUtil\x64\WimUtil.exe /mount E:\WimUtil\Wim\Test.wim 1 E:\WimUtil\1\Mount     (Mount Error: (0,0,2)
E:\WimUtil\x64\imagex.exe /mount E:\WimUtil\Wim\Test.wim 1 E:\WimUtil\1\Mount      (work)

ok I found what is causing this error.
seems wimimgapi.dll < 6.1.x does  not accept a null string for the TempPath whereas 6.1.x does.
why this matters:
if a temp path is specified the image is mounted as RW if Null temp path the mount is RO
it seems that with < 6.1 I cannot pass a null unicode string and expect that wimgapi.dll understands.
easy to test for and fix but annoying.  :ranting2:
Code: [Select]
Func _WIM_MountImage($sMountPath, $sWimFileName, $dwImageIndex, $sTempPath = 0)

Local $aResult = DllCall($ghwimgapi, "bool", "WIMMountImage", _
"wstr", $sMountPath, _
"wstr", $sWimFileName, _
"dword", $dwImageIndex, _
"wstr", $sTempPath)
If @error Then Return SetError(@error, @extended, 0)
Return SetExtended(_WinAPI_GetLastError(), $aResult[0])
EndFunc   ;==>_WIM_MountImage
« Last Edit: April 20, 2011, 02:38:00 PM by Homes32 »

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #22 on: April 21, 2011, 06:09:27 PM »

ChrisR

  • XPE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 3494
Hi Homes32,
ok I found what is causing this error.
seems wimimgapi.dll < 6.1.x does  not accept a null string for the TempPath whereas 6.1.x does.
why this matters:
if a temp path is specified the image is mounted as RW if Null temp path the mount is RO
it seems that with < 6.1 I cannot pass a null unicode string and expect that wimgapi.dll understands.
easy to test for and fix but annoying.  :ranting2:
Thank you for your research :thumbsup:, yes annoying :realmad:
 
I think, indeed, that this must be the solution for wimgapi < 6.1.
I'll try your code later (not at home) or if you have a trial version.

Another little thing I've seen, I sometimes get an error on first launch of WimUtil /info,
and it works very well at second trial.

Thank you again for this great tools, it will grow up  :great:

see you next week
:cheers:

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #23 on: April 21, 2011, 10:06:00 PM »

Homes32

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 177
I think, indeed, that this must be the solution for wimgapi < 6.1.
I'll try your code later (not at home) or if you have a trial version.
should have one ready soon. perhaps later tomorrow or this weekend.
its a silly problem

current code and the MS API for both 6.0 and 6.1 state that $sTempPath is wstr but to pass a null string to 6.0 with autoit you need to pass it as long or else with 0 you get 0x2 ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND or with "" you get 0x3 ERROR_PATH_NOT_FOUND

Another little thing I've seen, I sometimes get an error on first launch of WimUtil /info,
and it works very well at second trial.
what error do you get? can you reproduce this easily?
« Last Edit: April 21, 2011, 10:06:59 PM by Homes32 »

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #24 on: April 22, 2011, 11:13:05 AM »

ChrisR

  • XPE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 3494
Another little thing I've seen, I sometimes get an error on first launch of WimUtil /info,
and it works very well at second trial.
what error do you get? can you reproduce this easily?
I have this error with the flag /ini:  "wimutil has stopped working"

I reproduce it by running several times the command wimutil /info blabla /ini.
it seems to work fine without the flag /ini
But I do not know in what case it crashes or not !

 :cheers:
« Last Edit: April 22, 2011, 11:24:50 AM by ChrisR »

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #25 on: April 22, 2011, 04:41:48 PM »

Homes32

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 177
I can reproduce using the following cmd script:
Code: [Select]
wimutil.exe /info C:\Images\Win7_32_EN_DVD\SOURCES\INSTALL.WIM info.txt
wimutil.exe /info C:\Images\Win7_64_EN_DVD\SOURCES\INSTALL.WIM info2.txt
wimutil.exe /info C:\Images\Win7_64_EN_DVD\SOURCES\BOOT.WIM info3.txt
wimutil.exe /info C:\Images\Win7_32_EN_DVD\SOURCES\BOOT.WIM info4.txt

doesn't matter if /ini switch is present or not because crash is occurring during retrieval of the XML info
It will crash reading boot.wim

can you post your wimutil.log

do you get any Application errors you get in the event log when the crash occurs?
should look something like this
Quote
Faulting application name: WimUtil.exe, version: 3.1.1.0, time stamp: 0x4bc81615
Faulting module name: WimUtil.exe, version: 3.1.1.0, time stamp: 0x4bc81615
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0001678b
Faulting process id: 0x1218

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #26 on: April 23, 2011, 10:04:25 AM »

ChrisR

  • XPE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 3494
Hi Homes32,

Hope this helps you to find the error I have on wimUtil /info.
Here wimutil.log and a copy of the WimUtil application error in eventlog.

These are testing with my USB disk, I'm not at home to look in more detail.

* wimerror.zip (2.18 kB - downloaded 240 times.)

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #27 on: April 26, 2011, 01:58:24 PM »

Homes32

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 177
well I've been able to figure out which point the access violation occurs but what is causing it or how to fix. :(
more info and code here: http://www.autoitscript.com/forum/topic/127075-wimgapi-udf/page__view__findpost__p__887806

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #28 on: April 27, 2011, 09:55:55 PM »

ChrisR

  • XPE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 3494
well I've been able to figure out which point the access violation occurs but what is causing it or how to fix. :(
more info and code here: http://www.autoitscript.com/forum/topic/127075-wimgapi-udf/page__view__findpost__p__887806
Thank you for your research and your post on autoitscript.com. I reproduced it also with yout test code but I can not help to fix it :(
Hoping that somebody comes to help figure this out  :wink:.

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #29 on: May 01, 2011, 10:40:33 AM »

ChrisR

  • XPE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 3494
Hi Homes32,

about the issue with wimutil  /mount and wimgapi 6.0.
seems wimimgapi.dll < 6.1.x does  not accept a null string for the TempPath whereas 6.1.x does.
why this matters:
if a temp path is specified the image is mounted as RW if Null temp path the mount is RO
it seems that with < 6.1 I cannot pass a null unicode string and expect that wimgapi.dll understands.
easy to test for and fix but annoying.  :ranting2:

The new package for Win7PE SE is almost ready, maybe still some adjustment.
Is it possible to have an update for this issue ?   No rush, take the time needed but I would like to update the project shortly. This, for a Perfect use of WimUtil in Win7PE SE  :icecream:.

I think we can wait for wimUtil /info for now, waiting for support and a solution.
Futher up to you.

Thank you again for the Great WimUtil.exe and your Hard work :happy: :yahoo:
« Last Edit: May 01, 2011, 10:41:53 AM by ChrisR »

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #30 on: May 02, 2011, 04:03:37 PM »

Homes32

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 177
Hi Homes32,

about the issue with wimutil  /mount and wimgapi 6.0.
seems wimimgapi.dll < 6.1.x does  not accept a null string for the TempPath whereas 6.1.x does.
why this matters:
if a temp path is specified the image is mounted as RW if Null temp path the mount is RO
it seems that with < 6.1 I cannot pass a null unicode string and expect that wimgapi.dll understands.
easy to test for and fix but annoying.  :ranting2:

The new package for Win7PE SE is almost ready, maybe still some adjustment.
Is it possible to have an update for this issue ?   No rush, take the time needed but I would like to update the project shortly. This, for a Perfect use of WimUtil in Win7PE SE  :icecream:.

I think we can wait for wimUtil /info for now, waiting for support and a solution.
Futher up to you.

Thank you again for the Great WimUtil.exe and your Hard work :happy: :yahoo:
yep new version posted. was waiting to see if we could resolve the /info crash but haven't been successful so far. :(

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #31 on: May 02, 2011, 06:02:16 PM »

ChrisR

  • XPE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 3494
Thanks Homes32, tested mount/unmount with both wimgapi, works well :thumbsup:
just /RW that mounts the image correctly but without permission to write with wimgapi 6.0.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2011, 06:02:44 PM by ChrisR »

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #32 on: May 02, 2011, 07:47:24 PM »

Homes32

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 177
just /RW that mounts the image correctly but without permission to write with wimgapi 6.0.
fixed. new wimutil file version is 3.1.2.1

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #33 on: May 02, 2011, 08:31:52 PM »

ChrisR

  • XPE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 3494
fixed. new wimutil file version is 3.1.2.1
Thank you very much, everything works well for mount unmount  and capture  :great:.

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #34 on: June 25, 2011, 11:50:42 AM »

was_JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 1074
Hi Homes32,

very nice tool, thanks alot  :great:

I have a small problem with the booflag, wimutil does not set it even if I use /boot switch with the /capture option.
Also there is no entry about _WIM_SetBootImage in the log file :confused:


using your WimGAPI UDF works.
could it be that the /boot switch is ignored?


BTW: a standalone option:

Quote
wimutil.exe "WimFile"/boot [index]

like imagex have would be nice  :wink:

 :cheers:

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #35 on: June 26, 2011, 09:05:41 PM »

Homes32

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 177
I have a small problem with the booflag, wimutil does not set it even if I use /boot switch with the /capture option.
Also there is no entry about _WIM_SetBootImage in the log file :confused:


using your WimGAPI UDF works.
could it be that the /boot switch is ignored?
not ignored, but the flag was not being set to true!  :embarrassed:
fixed! thanks!

BTW: a standalone option:

Quote
wimutil.exe "WimFile"/boot [index]

like imagex have would be nice  :wink:

 :cheers:

I suppose it could be done if you think that people would benefit from it.


BTW: do you have enough experience with windows to guess at what could be causing the struct read to fail with the /info issue?

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #36 on: June 29, 2011, 10:56:49 AM »

ChrisR

  • XPE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 3494
Where can I find the new version that fixes the flag or, do you wait for further changes.
Currently, this is a problem with the latest w7pese version.

:cheers:

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #37 on: June 29, 2011, 02:54:17 PM »

Homes32

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 177
sorry. It got compiled but never posted.

1st post updated with WimUtil 3.1.3

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #38 on: June 29, 2011, 03:18:18 PM »

ChrisR

  • XPE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 3494
Thanks :thumbsup:

Re: WimUtil - Reborn! Now with 20% more fiber.
« Reply #39 on: June 29, 2011, 03:20:14 PM »

was_JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 1074
Thanks for new version :smile:

I suppose it could be done if you think that people would benefit from it.

BTW: do you have enough experience with windows to guess at what could be causing the struct read to fail with the /info issue?

A separate /boot command is not important, just thinking it would make it a perfect imagex replacement :wink:

I'm sorry, but i  can't help with struct problem on /info, have not much knowledge about that
 :cheers:

 

Powered by EzPortal