Topic: WinXShell - a portable shell and zero dependencies for boot.wim,winre.wim  (Read 65223 times)

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
Hi,bomb

Quote
Also i started to add system info but not sure how to implement.


MyComputerPropertyEntry.reg
Code: [Select]
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\Property]
"Position"="Bottom"
@="@comctl32.dll,-4177"
;@="&Property" I don't found out the resource with shortcut for every language now, use 4177 instead.

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\Property\command]
@="WinXShell.exe -ui -jcfg UI_SystemInfo\\main.jcfg"


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer]
"NoPropertiesMyComputer"=dword:00000001

I found out the windows size, some label is not fit on different language OS.

for now maybe need:
Code: [Select]
if localename='en_US' then
   xxx.width = xxx
end

teik

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Nov 2016
  • Posts: 250


this version is nearly for somebody who want to change/create the UI for himself,
if what I released UI stuffs work fine for you, and you needn't change it, you needn't have to download this version,
just use last v3.0.0 is good enough. you can wait my next version for brightness,DPI settings,QuickLaunchMenu(basic statmenu),
right corner notifition/switch panel...



Hi @slore

Thank you very much for including it in your list. It is appreciated that you are so attentive to the project.
Greetings and around here I will remain attentive.

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
I want to test WinXShell in the Windows 10 RS4, so I try the WIN10XPE, found some issues.

1. this PC's property can't be showed.
UI_SystemInfo works fine.

2. no sound beep when I change volume settings with my UI_Volume
also no sound with the built-in Volume settings(Is PE's problem?)
I will make it say 'TING' in next release.

3. when I try  to access my host PC's share folder(\\192.168.0.100), explorer.exe CAN'T open it.
try to open it with winxshell, and add a cred login ui(I don't know if it will work for explorer.exe).
ila_rendered

4.it has a keyboard layout settings batch file, but I can't input "02" with default layout.
i used "System Recovery" to change it in right layout with just CLICK, so I thoght if I can make a WinXShell's UI for that.
and it done with next 16 lines.  :wink:

Code: [Select]
require('lua_helper.lua_helper')

function onload()
  LCID = reg_read([[HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Control Panel\International]],
    'Locale')
  LCID = string.sub(LCID, -4, -1)
  --:: Update registry keyboard layouts in HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\WinPE\KeyboardLayouts
  suilib.call('run', 'Wpeutil.exe', 'ListKeyboardLayouts 0x' .. LCID)
end

function onclick(ctrl)
  suilib.call('run', 'Wpeutil.exe', string.format('SetKeyboardLayout 0x%s:%s', LCID, ctrl))
  sui:hide()
  suilib.call('sleep', 3000) -- ?
  sui:close()
end

with winapi libray, you can read the registry and page with 187 keyboard layout! like the system recovery do.

5. there is no calendar for me with single click neither double click on  the DATE-TIME area
WITH 100 lines lua script it shows up  :cool:
next version will add this in WinXShell DATE-TIME area click event.

attach is Calendar and KB_Layout UI without WinXShell updating, they can work with released WinXShell v3.0.1 or rename to main.lua for v3.0.0.
JUST 9KB you can got it.
* WINXSHELL_UI.zip (8.77 kB - downloaded 85 times.)

snapshot:
ila_rendered

AND you can easily change it any UI by yourself.
ila_rendered
HAVE FUN.



« Last Edit: April 06, 2018, 06:47:48 AM by slore »

teik

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Nov 2016
  • Posts: 250
Congratulations for the new mejjoras. Visually it is very modern.

The sound is true, there is no beep when you change. But in my opinion it is better to be like this in silent mode to raise or lower volume.

I just tried the calendar and it works perfectly. Also visually it looks perfect. What I do not know how it works very well is the KB_Layout UI. I execute it but nothing appears. Do I do something wrong?

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
Quote
What I do not know how it works very well is the KB_Layout UI. I execute it but nothing appears. Do I do something wrong?

I see a typo  jfcg:w00t:


teik

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Nov 2016
  • Posts: 250
Totally true. My fingers went out when writing.   :lol: :lol: That bad. Excuse me. It works very well. Waiting for the next version to have it fixed on the taskbar as the sound.

Thank you very much again for sharing your work, and forget my rookie error.  :thumbsup:

gostsn

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Mar 2018
  • Posts: 3
Hello,
What are the possible parameters for the start menu?
Existil other parameter for default applications in WinXShell.jcfg?

Excellent work thank you :)


Quote
"JS_STARTMENU":
  {
   "nosettings":true,
   "nobrowse":false,
   "nobrowse_network":true,
   "nofind":true,
    "norun":true,
    "nologoff":true,
    "norestart":false,
    "noshutdown":false,
    "noterm":true
   }

bob.omb

  • Code Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: USA
  • Date Registered: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 1261
Can the WiFi flyout be changed so the wired network icon shows for wired and the wireless flyout if a wifi card is detected?  I would still switch away from PE network UI to yours....  Does LUA make this possible?
« Last Edit: April 08, 2018, 03:55:01 AM by bob.omb »

bob.omb

  • Code Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: USA
  • Date Registered: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 1261
slore, (I'm back at it  :tongue: diving in)

  for UI WIFI

With PE Nettwork and UI WIFI - both disconnected LAN and disconnected WLAN



Different behavior is here - plugged in LAN with disconnected wifi - PE Network shows correct WIRED icon...UI_WIFI shows wireless icon?



Need UI Wifi to detect when LAN is plugged in and override wifi icon....

Wired lan should be top most if detected active connection.. With its own separate flyout for wired icon.

ila_rendered

------->

Calendar --> Can we pin this to current tray clock  :confused:  (Best way to activate)

------->

Keyboard Switcher !!!  :thumbsup:   Nice  :wink:   This all looks like the future  :cool:

1.) Can we suppress cmd windows for kb switcher?

2.) This is better than current keyboard switchers, however the one thing the current ones have is the way they work.  Usually they run in the tray with a flag tray icon representing the country the language is for, and they usually use a hotkey like ctrl+tab or something...  The current switchers did these things right, but they don't compare how nice yours is..
« Last Edit: April 10, 2018, 04:14:19 AM by bob.omb »

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
2018-04-16  v3.1.0 release
* WinXShell_x64.zip (2613.39 kB - downloaded 223 times.)
* WinXShell_x86.zip (2442.86 kB - downloaded 149 times.)

ila_rendered

release log:
New:  quite or better normal system function, but only needs 100kb
Added: Handle My Computer Properties, show Memory Information, and used time[xml+lua You can change the layout color, add anything] (No need for 15MB wbem\*)
Added: Hijack shortcuts's Open Containing Folder menu(both the button in property). YOU open the shortcuts's directory without ieframe.dll+wow64\ieframe.dll (24MB)
Added: Hijack the taskbar's clock area single-click event to display a lua simple calendar(you can customize).
Added: Hijack the taskbar's clock area double-click event to run timedate.cpl.
Added: The above actions can be configured (whether to hijack or what program runs)
Improved: WIFI's tray icon appears as a wired network icon when there isn't wireless network adapter.
Improved: When the UI_Volume changes the sound, make Beep sound(can disable with -nobeep option)

Instructions:
Imports the following registry before WinXShell.exe runs
Code: [Select]
wxsStub.reg
UI_SystemInfo\handle_prop.reg
fix the WinXShell location with yours.

Using explorer.exe can also use "My Computer Properties", "open shortcut location interception", "clock area click to invoke the event", use the method as follows:

Code: [Select]
WinXShell.jcfg added
"JS_DAEMON" : {
  "handle_clockarea_click": true
}
then run:
Code: [Select]
WinXShell.exe -daemon

details about How to customize?

1.customize the my computer property:

edit UI_SystemInfo\handle_prop.reg

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}\shell\properties\command]
@="WinXShell.exe -ui -jcfg UI_SystemInfo\\main.jcfg"
===>
@="cpuz.exe"
you can open cpuz.exe for you.

if you don't care above the size of the wim, you already added the wbem\*(15MB),
you needn't import the UI_SystemInfo\handle_prop.reg for handling the system property menu.



2.customize the shortcuts' OpenContainingFolder Menu:
if you can deal with the *.lnk file path that you can change

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\lnkfile\shell\OpenContainingFolderMenu_wxsStub\command] @wxsStub.reg
@="X:\\WinXShell\\WinXShell.exe -ocf \"%1\""
===>
@="pecmd exec !cmd /c  type "%0" | find /i ":\" | find /v "/">"%%temp%%\~~AutoOpenDir.txt" & for /f "delims=" %%a in (%%temp%%\~~AutoOpenDir.txt) do start X:\Progra~1\TotalCommander\TOTALCMD64 /O /T /A "%%~a""

if you can deal with the target path(%1) or containing folder(%p) that you can modify WinXShell.jcfg:
  "JS_DAEMON":
  {
    "open_containing_folder":"explorer /select,\"%1\""
  }

if you don't care above the size of the wim, you already added the ieframe.dll(24MB),
you needn't import the wxsStub.reg for hijacking the open containing folder menu.


3.customize the clockarea click action:
a). enable the hijack
Code: [Select]
  "JS_DAEMON":
  {
    "handle_clockarea_click":true
  }

b) handle single click action
c) handle double click action

Code: [Select]
  "JS_DAEMON":
  {
    "clockarea_click": {
      "command": "##{JVAR_MODULEPATH}\\WinXShell.exe",
      "parameters": "-ui -jcfg UI_Calendar\\Calendar.jcfg"
    },
    "clockarea_dbclick": {
      "command": "timedate.cpl"
    }
  }

You can startup oher clendar application with yourself.

full configure:
Code: [Select]
  "JS_DAEMON":
  {
    "open_containing_folder":"explorer /select,\"%1\"",
    "handle_clockarea_click":true,
    "clockarea_click": {
      "command": "##{JVAR_MODULEPATH}\\WinXShell.exe",
      "parameters": "-ui -jcfg UI_Calendar\\Calendar.jcfg"
    },
    "clockarea_dbclick": {
      "command": "timedate.cpl"
    }
  }
« Last Edit: April 17, 2018, 02:22:29 AM by slore »

teik

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Nov 2016
  • Posts: 250
Hello @slore

I just tried the new version and I love it. I have seen the option to change the wallpaper. I love that option and it works very well. Can it be added to the right click on the desktop? How was the resolution? In other words, adding the new command.

Congratulations on the progress.

I do not understand this. Can you explain?, please.

Quote
Added: The above actions can be configured (whether to hijack or run custom programs)

Thanks you so much.
Regards.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2018, 07:19:25 PM by teik »

bob.omb

  • Code Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: USA
  • Date Registered: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 1261
Improved: WIFI's tray icon appears as a wired network icon when there is no wireless network adapter

SWEEET!!  :w00t:

I have been waiting for this for a long time  :tongue:  THANK YOU SLORE!

Everythign else looks great too   :thumbsup:   I can't wait to start working with this your the best!

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
Hi, teik

I update the post, add  details about how to customize.

Quote
Can it be added to the right click on the desktop? How was the resolution? In other words, adding the new command.
see bob.omb's plugin:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Display

and make new registry entry:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Personalize or wallpaper

teik

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Nov 2016
  • Posts: 250
Hi @slore

Thank you very much for explaining it more. Now I can try this great job. The truth is that you have incorporated, very good improvements.

Thank you for continuing to share your work, and explain it so that we can all understand it, to enjoy this work to the fullest.  :thumbsup:

RanCorX2

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: May 2018
  • Posts: 33
@slore

hi, been trying out the shell on windows 10 rs3 x64 (not PE)

having some issues;

can't move desktop items, i.e. can't move a folder to another area of the desktop
windows volume control opens in top left of screen instead in the tray

i read a few pages back someone found that classic shell 4.2.x works, can't seem to get it working properly, does anyone know how to tweak the cfg to make it work?
i tried pasting in the lines from a post a few pages back, it kind worked but the shell start button was not hidden.

bob.omb

  • Code Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: USA
  • Date Registered: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 1261
Improved: WIFI's tray icon appears as a wired network icon when there is no wireless network adapter

SWEEET!!  :w00t:

I have been waiting for this for a long time  :tongue:  THANK YOU SLORE!

Everythign else looks great too   :thumbsup:   I can't wait to start working with this your the best!


Just to clarify this still doesnt do what I thought lol, how have things been?  hope all is well.. (and dont forget @RanCorX2 above)
« Last Edit: May 21, 2018, 02:56:19 PM by bob.omb »

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
Hi,RanCorX2

> it kind worked but the shell start button was not hidden.

I was already posted in « Reply #1 on: April 08, 2017, 02:36:48 AM »

Quote
can I use a 3rd-part StartMenu?
Yes,but I think only Classic Shell(<= 4.2.5) can be.

hide origin start icon with WinXShell.jcfg
Code:
  "JS_STARTMENU":
  {
    "start_icon":"empty",
    "start_padding":8,
    ...
  }


>can't move desktop items, i.e. can't move a folder to another area of the desktop

for boot.wim, winre.wim needs add some dll files and import 2 registry key which was posted in
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2017, 02:59:20 AM »

I can't drop the icon on the Desktop in Win10 PE!
I can't drop the file from desktop to cmd.exe, notepad or other apps!

Quote
DragAndDrop-Patch

but it's wired, it can't work in normal Windows 10(I used it in normal window 10 at all).

>windows volume control opens in top left of screen instead in the tray
something failed in init the window phase.

try to run:
WinXShell.exe -console -ui -jcfg UI_Volume\main.jcfg

to see what output.

« Last Edit: May 22, 2018, 05:49:56 AM by slore »

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
Hi, bob.omb
 :confused:

I tested with my PC, and WIN10XPE, it show the right icon.

what your adapters information?
and try to run:
WinXShell.exe -console -ui -jcfg UI_WIFI\main.jcfg
post the output message.

bob.omb

  • Code Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: USA
  • Date Registered: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 1261
Same issue, when the machine has a wifi adapter and a wired connection is used there is no switch to wired icon...

ila_rendered

On the left is UIWIFI and on the right is PENetwork

All laptops have wifi adapter, so all laptops get wrong icon when wired connection is used..
« Last Edit: May 23, 2018, 02:28:15 AM by bob.omb »

RanCorX2

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: May 2018
  • Posts: 33
so if i understand, dragging desktop icons doesn't work when using the shell on no pe install

if that's the case, that's a shame, was hoping to use it instead of explorer.

 

Powered by EzPortal