Topic: Win10PE and PowerShell  (Read 8560 times)

Win10PE and PowerShell
« on: October 06, 2015, 02:18:23 PM »

sflach

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Apr 2015
  • Posts: 15
Hey guys,

was anyone already able to get powershell to work in Win10PE?

It doesnt work for me. Used a custom script to apply the optional components to WinPE which I took from the Win 10 ADK. No luck unfortunately :(

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2015, 09:11:35 PM »

ChrisR

  • XPE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 3494
The Dependencies for Windows PowerShell are  https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh824926.aspx
Quote
Install WinPE-WMI > WinPE-NetFX > WinPE-Scripting before you install WinPE-PowerShell.

In the WinPESE base, it is already OK for WMI and Scripting.
So, you need to Add Microsoft .NET before installing PowerShell which is based on .NET

In Win8.1SE, there are .Net Framework and PowerShell plugins in Components folder.
But I guess they need small change to be operational for Win10 :wink:
I do not use, I let it to the voluntary  :thumbsup:

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2015, 02:22:34 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
was looking into PowerShell for Win10PESE..
First thought I would try PowerShell in Win8.1SE..
Well it just pops up a windows and closes just as fast, in both 8.1 and 10
Net framework 4.5 core selected in both cases..

I see the history revision showing powershell compatability with win8.1..

So what am I missing??
« Last Edit: October 22, 2015, 02:22:54 AM by KYHI »

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2015, 10:38:30 AM »

ChrisR

  • XPE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 3494
Hi Kyhi,

I guess that Net framework 4.5 core is not enough. It is for simple DotNet 4.0 programs that use WindowsForms only.
I beleive powershell need the "Full" DotNet 4.0/4.5.

was looking into PowerShell for Win10PESE..
:great:

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2015, 10:45:14 AM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 827
Yesterday, I was briefly testing the new Active@ Data Studio 10.1
As you may know, LSoft has a lot of websites and different versions of all their tools, it can be a bit confusing sometimes.
Anyway, I saw that there were two versions of a bootdisk, it turns out one comes *with* DotNet and Powershell, and one *without* them.

Kyhi, are you familiar with the Active@ boot disk? Maybe you would like to test them, to get some hints on what is needed for Powershell?

... just a suggestion, that's all...

EDIT: This is the direct link to the installer:
http://download.lsoft.net/ActiveDataStudio.exe
If I remember correctly, you can extract it with InnoUnp, then you'll see the Bootdisk iso inside.
To boot this iso, you only need your activation data in a text file in the root of the usb.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2015, 10:53:12 AM by Atari800xl »

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2015, 10:55:42 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Hi Atari800xl,

as a long timer around,
 maybe time came to get your hands dirty with Process Monitor  :wink:
See ied206 Reply 11 here http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=1483.msg17256#msg17256

... just a suggestion, that's all...

:turtle:

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2015, 12:03:00 PM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
I download the whole SI package, after that post about how to with SI..
Read the Help file to get better understanding of what I was looking at when running SI..
Because I had not a clue before

Process Monitor Help file
* procmon.7z (55.43 kB - downloaded 109 times.)
« Last Edit: October 22, 2015, 12:06:17 PM by KYHI »

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2015, 02:12:32 PM »

APT

  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • winpe enthusiast
  • Location: UK
  • Date Registered: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 1150
Hi Atari800xl,

Yesterday, I was briefly testing the new Active@ Data Studio 10.1

To boot this iso, you only need your activation data in a text file in the root of the usb.

txt file needs to be called BOOTDISK.KEY containing reg name on first line and password on second one
on i believe, the root of usb/iso/cd or any drive it will see

regards APT
« Last Edit: October 22, 2015, 02:14:20 PM by APT, Reason: typo »

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2015, 04:14:36 PM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
Was able to get PowerShell to load in Win8.1 and Win10..
As ChrisR stated it requires the FULL .NETFramework

For testing in Win10 - I marked out line 53 of PowerShell plugin..
Code: [Select]
//If,Not,%OS%,Equal,Win7,If,Not,%OS%,Equal,Win8,If,Not,%OS%,Equal,Win8.1,Exit,"Needs Windows 7, 8 or 8.1 DVD as source..."

I'll leave it up to other to add a better Version varible

and changed
pTextLabel1="PowerShell Requires Full .Net Framework",1,1,14,8,280,18,9,Bold
« Last Edit: October 22, 2015, 04:17:40 PM by KYHI »

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2015, 05:40:37 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
If powershell ok with normal .net framework settings,

Maybe:
Quote
Win10PESE: PowerShell Requires 'Full .Net Framework' for now.

:turtle:
« Last Edit: October 22, 2015, 05:41:27 PM by Lancelot »

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2015, 05:43:37 PM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
You have to use Full NETframework on all - can not use just smaller Core
« Last Edit: October 22, 2015, 05:44:25 PM by KYHI »

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2015, 05:47:19 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Thanks,

I will follow you when I get back home.  :thumbsup: :great:

:turtle:

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2015, 07:00:35 PM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
Quote
Kyhi, are you familiar with the Active@ boot disk? Maybe you would like to test them, to get some hints on what is needed for Powershell?

I just mounted their Boot.wim - it has Powershell and Net framework

In my posts about NET Framework I pointed to several missing files from framework folder
I assume the are missing, because their Framework has them included
oh Well, back to the drawing board
« Last Edit: October 22, 2015, 07:00:52 PM by KYHI »

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #13 on: October 22, 2015, 07:11:58 PM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 827
As I said Kyhi, I stumbled onto the Active@ stuff by accident, thought it would be interesting for you to study the Dotnet/ PS stuff.
Did you get my PM?

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #14 on: October 22, 2015, 08:04:55 PM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
Yes, I did.. been busy, but I can test it for you, if you'd like..

It was good to compare with - and confirm with ..

PowerShell copies just fine - just needed to use the Full .NET version and to allow PowerShell for Win10

.NET missing a few sbs*.dll from Framework Folder (Updated NETFramework topic)

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #15 on: October 22, 2015, 08:36:38 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Hi KYHI,

just updated plugin to servers following you  :thumbsup:

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #16 on: October 25, 2015, 12:55:16 PM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
PowerShell needs to be added to Win10PESE Project Download..

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #17 on: October 25, 2015, 01:04:42 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Hi KYHI,

be more clear, I see it on server and Project Download.....

Re: Win10PE and PowerShell
« Reply #18 on: October 25, 2015, 02:22:49 PM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
My bad - guess I did not see it in project tree, before

 

Powered by EzPortal