Topic: HDDScan  (Read 7638 times)

HDDScan
« on: January 24, 2015, 02:47:07 PM »

Prz42

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 513
I downloaded this script for Win8.1SE project.  It worked great in 32 bit mode in Ram.
It didn't like run in CD because it writes ini files.  It would not work in 64 bit at all.
I had to put a line in the script not to run if in x64 source.  Maybe there is something that can
be done to work in x64.  I added this line to my script
Code: [Select]
If,%SourceArch%,Equal,x64,exit
Location of the script on Gena-Sweets is
http://gena.cwcodes.net/Projects/Gena-Sweets/Apps/HD%20Tasks/Diagnostic/HDDScan.script

Re: HDDScan
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2015, 06:00:11 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Hi Mark,

next time you see something like that on screen for a x86 application
ila_rendered

add
Code: [Select]
Set,%PluginArch%,x86
Require_FileQ,shdocvw.dll

inside plugin, under //Dependencies where available...

and if still not working,
There is
Apps\System Tools\Debug\Sysinternals Process Monitor

at ALL projects, so you can work on and figure out rest of dependencies, and report us so we can add to plugins.

*
Gena/Apps/HD Tasks/Diagnostic/HDDScan
is enough to say location of a plugin

Re: HDDScan
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2015, 06:01:19 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
* yes plugins have .script extension,
    which is calling a cat, a tiger,
       if well defined they are batch files, or better say batchplugins
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scripting_language
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batch_file
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plug-in_%28computing%29

bad naming, and bug programming is a winbuilder development nature in history  :wink:

Re: HDDScan
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2015, 06:04:25 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Well,

I updated
Gena/Apps/HD Tasks/Diagnostic/HDDScan
fixed .ini trouble with a starter, and added dependencies I figured out,

it nicely works on Gena x64 , but as far as I see not on Win81SEx64,
 Further,
  I advice you test also with Internet Explorer 11 enabled,
   and further if still not working, let us know what is missing with
     Apps\System Tools\Debug\Sysinternals Process Monitor


 :thumbsup:

Re: HDDScan
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2015, 10:28:47 PM »

Prz42

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 513
Hi Lancelot,
  I advice you test also with Internet Explorer 11 enabled,
   and further if still not working, let us know what is missing with
     Apps\System Tools\Debug\Sysinternals Process Monitor
I got this error message.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2015, 10:32:31 PM by Mark »

Re: HDDScan
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2015, 04:47:52 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
   and further if still not working, let us know what is missing with
     Apps\System Tools\Debug\Sysinternals Process Monitor


 :thumbsup:
:turtle:

Re: HDDScan
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2015, 05:57:49 AM »

Venerence

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 54
Doesn't fix your problem, but for certain diagnostics, you can use GSmartControl instead.

1) It's completely portable, and runs fine from the PE environment
2) It gives tons of information about the drives, like smart attributes, error counts, error logs, testing logs, serial number, firmware revision, etc.
3) It runs the internal diagnostic tests of the drive instead of a manual scan.

If you need features like manual surface scanning, zero filling, or repartitioning, Partition Wizard can be run portably as well (you install it on a host OS, and copy out the program files). Really the only thing missing is hard-drive benchmarking.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2015, 05:59:12 AM by Venerence »

Re: HDDScan
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2015, 11:01:15 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Thanks Venerence,

added GSmartControl plugin,
and retired HDDScan plugin (to Yomi)


We have Partition Wizard plugin, already available, just updated to 9,
 new thing with 9, now PW both have x86 and x64 seperately  :smile:

it seems all partition softwares updating with VC 2008 (grrrr, but with SystemSetupInProgress dependency)


for Benchmark, there is
ATTO Disk Benchmark
Gena\Apps\HD Tasks\Diagnostic\ATTO Disk Benchmark
plugin available,
if you know such nice small Benchmark utility, let us know  :thumbsup:


:turtle:

Re: HDDScan
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2015, 10:28:30 PM »

Prz42

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 513
Hi Lancelot,
added GSmartControl plugin,
and retired HDDScan plugin (to Yomi)
Nice add from Venerence.
I compressed the script down using Win7 format instead of Winzip. I also tested it in
x86 and x64 and your scripts works perfect. The script went from 8.72 mb's to 5.75 mb's.
I did also recheck the script twice just to make sure it worked. I try to make life easier not harder.  :thumbsup:
Thanks for all your help on the scripts.  What program did you use to take the setup.exe
to the program file?  I tried using PC Inncounp, but it only keep it in setup format?
Did you have to install in a VM Program?  :confused:

Re: HDDScan
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2015, 05:12:26 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Hi Mark,

There is already a .zip distribution on download page
http://gsmartcontrol.sourceforge.net/home/index.php/Downloads

To create Plugin, I used Plugin Creator Packed (PC Packed)
1) .........\gsmartcontrol-0.8.7-win32.zip
2) gsmartcontrol-0.8.7-win32\gsmartcontrol.exe

working plugin  :thumbsup:
Than at first test I figured out msimg32.dll requirement, and added it,

Further changes are cosmetics, personal etc.
(just updated and removed not required starter, so you more easly inspect by comparing - WinMerge  :wink: )




***
Plugin Creator Innounp has a Test button,
just point the .exe and click Test,
 if setup is not an innounp, you will get a cmd screen,
 if setup is an innounp one, you can see result extraction at 'Open Test Dir'

***
You can also use setup.exe with Plugin Creator Packed (PC Packed) (There is also Test button there too)
(7z can open some setup types)
1) .........\gsmartcontrol-0.8.7.exe
2) gsmartcontrol.exe

further you will need to work more on (or after) [Extract]
adding [Variables]
%SetupFileGTK%=gtk2-runtime-2.16.6-2010-05-12-ash.exe

and at the end of [Extract]
Code: [Select]
ShellExecute,Hide,%Tools%\7z.exe,"x #$q%ProjectTemp%\TempExtractFolder\%ProgramFolder%\%ProgramFolder%\%SetupFileGTK%#$q -y -o#$q%ProjectTemp%\TempExtractFolder\%ProgramFolder%\GTK#$q"
Call,FileDelete,%ProjectTemp%\TempExtractFolder\%ProgramFolder%\%ProgramFolder%\%SetupFileGTK%

and more lines required to get it ready (gtk files to be copied properly, some other files to be copied, dir delete etc. etc...)
 Thanks Developers for zip distribution  :smile:


**
When possible, We use developers distributed files on plugins by paying space price.
 So End user and Developer sure we do not play with distributed file,
  and to me more important, updating plugins is easier with life being fast  :smile:

When not possible, always 7z  :smile:
(ex: Active@ Partition Manager 1)
I also like and use 7z a lot  :thumbsup:

See You
:turtle:

Re: HDDScan
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2015, 06:05:53 AM »

Prz42

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 513
Hi Lancelot,
Great explanation. I agree that is the easiest way to update.  Didn't know they had a zip file download.  :thumbsup:
Thanks for the explanation.  I have a tenancy to do thing the hard way.  But is always nice to find the easy way.

Re: HDDScan
« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2015, 06:15:59 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 10350
Hi Mark,

 :thumbsup:

Practice above Plugin Creator things with
gsmartcontrol-0.8.7-win32.zip
gsmartcontrol-0.8.7.exe

(Test buttons, etc. etc.)

Things organised to get life easier, but requires some time to learn,
practicing is best way of learning  :thumbsup:





Reminding,
Plugins helps increase awareness of an application (Thanks Venerence for GSmartControl)
 And for applications, Plugins are most important to find requirements,
   (required files, required registry, required starter, required vc2008 etc.)
     Even a small sized "Provide Files" type plugin serves this goal  :great:
       After you pass all these plugins, and do your personals, I expect to see your plugin collection  :wink:



See You
:turtle:

Re: HDDScan
« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2015, 07:35:34 AM »

Prz42

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 513
Hi Venerence,
1) It's completely portable, and runs fine from the PE environment
2) It gives tons of information about the drives, like smart attributes, error counts, error logs, testing logs, serial number, firmware revision, etc.
3) It runs the internal diagnostic tests of the drive instead of a manual scan.
Got to test it out and works great. I just got a new portable Hard Drive thru Seagate.  They gave me a
3 Tera-bit replacement hard drive.  I wanted a 2 tera-bit hard drive replacement, but they didn't have any.
It was for a Dish Network to expand their satalite receiver.  They said it would only work on no larger than
2 tera-bits but I used diskpart and cleaned the drive and it had no problem installing the drive. I checked it
first with this disk utility.  Many thanks for the help. :thumbsup: Don't really know what type of format it uses.
It partitioned it to 1 gig, 500 gigs,500 gigs & 1.73 Tera-bits.

 

Powered by EzPortal