Topic: WinXShell - a portable shell and zero dependencies for boot.wim,winre.wim  (Read 65223 times)

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
Hi, MathSilva

See Reply #2 FAQ ...  NewOpenDlg part.



Is there a option for File Explorer?
Yes.

you can use explorer++.exe, XYplorer.exe, TotalCommand.exe, etc.

WinXShell.jcfg:
Code: [Select]
  "JS_FILEEXPLORER":
  {
    "3rd_filename":"##{JVAR_MODULEPATH}\\explorer++.exe",
  },
  "JS_DESKTOP":
  {
    "3rd_open_arguments":"\"%s\""
  },
  "JS_QUICKLAUNCH":
  {
    "3rd_open_arguments":""
  }

this config with handle the double click on desktop(This PC/Recyle Bin/folder) and explorer icon on QuickLaunch.

if 3rd_filename is "" then will use a built-in file explorer.
the built-in file explorer is USE a OpenFileDialog window to simulate it.
it very functional but need some dependencies.

NewOpenDlg:
ADDITEMS.txt
Code: [Select]
Windows\System32\ExplorerFrame.dll
Windows\System32\shellstyle.dll
Windows\System32\StructuredQuery.dll

;some version of WIN10 need this file,
;some version will broke if have this file.
Windows\System32\edputil.dll


NewOpenDlg.reg:
Code: [Select]
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

;explorerframe.dll
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{056440FD-8568-48e7-A632-72157243B55B}]
@="Explorer Navigation Bar"
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{056440FD-8568-48e7-A632-72157243B55B}\InProcServer32]
@=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,\
  00,5c,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,65,00,78,00,\
  70,00,6c,00,6f,00,72,00,65,00,72,00,66,00,72,00,61,00,6d,00,65,00,2e,00,64,\
  00,6c,00,6c,00,00,00
"ThreadingModel"="Apartment"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{AE054212-3535-4430-83ED-D501AA6680E6}]
@="Shell Name Space ListView"
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{AE054212-3535-4430-83ED-D501AA6680E6}\InProcServer32]
@=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,\
  00,5c,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,65,00,78,00,\
  70,00,6c,00,6f,00,72,00,65,00,72,00,66,00,72,00,61,00,6d,00,65,00,2e,00,64,\
  00,6c,00,6c,00,00,00
"ThreadingModel"="Apartment"
;@="X:\\Windows\\system32\\explorerframe.dll"

you can do this(add to boot.wim) by yourself, or just download the patch and put this in wimbuilder's project folder,
wimbuilder will auto add the to boot.wim.
(Attachment Link)

FYI:
this also make "Browser..." work for Run dialog, and taskmgr.exe -> File -> New Task dialog,
and replace the Open File Dialog in new style for notepad.exe.

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
new WimBuilder2 have support new Windows 10 with:

WimBuilder2\Projects\WIN10XPE\shared\NewBrowseDlg\main.bat (Don't forget the mui, mun files with manual adding)
Code: [Select]
rem ==========update filesystem==========

call AddFiles %0 :end_files
goto :end_files

@\Windows\System32\
comctl32.dll
ExplorerFrame.dll

+ver > 17700
; shellstyle.dll(.mui) is now in \Windows\resources\themes\aero\shell\normalcolor
\Windows\resources\Themes\aero\shell
+ver <= 17700 or (ver > 18334 and ver < 18800) or ver > 18836
shellstyle.dll
en-US\shellstyle.dll.mui
+ver*

; DragAndDrop (d2d1.dll,ksuser.dll already in Winre.wim)
DataExchange.dll,dcomp.dll,d3d11.dll,dxgi.dll
;d2d1.dll,ksuser.dll

; CopyProgress
chartv.dll,OneCoreUAPCommonProxyStub.dll

:end_files
goto :EOF

rem explorerframe.dll CLSID
rem call RegCopy HKLM\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{056440FD-8568-48e7-A632-72157243B55B}
rem already added by RegCopy HKLM\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID
« Last Edit: April 13, 2019, 03:32:57 AM by slore »

lenug

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Apr 2019
  • Posts: 22
Hi everybody & congrats for Winxshell!

Is there any option to enable window thumbnail previews in Winxshell when hoven an icon ? I currently have combined + hide labels.

I tried with this: _ttps://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows/get-vista-taskbar-thumbnail-previews-in-windows-xp/ But it seems like it only works with explorer.exe ..

Thanks

Regards

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
Hi everybody & congrats for Winxshell!
Is there any option to enable window thumbnail previews in Winxshell when hoven an icon ? I currently have combined + hide labels.

Hi, lenug

For now, WinXShell don't have "combined", "thumbnail preivews" features.

"thumbnail preivews" feature is not hard to add, I will add it in next month.

Regards

RXTech

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2018
  • Posts: 74
Just perfect! Thanks @slore!  :thumbsup:

i created 2 wallpapers for it:

Light:


Dark:


if anyone want them...
https://www.upload.ee/files/9955440/WinXShell_BGs.7z.html

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
Just perfect! Thanks @slore!  :thumbsup:
i created 2 wallpapers for it:

Hi, RXTech
Thanks for the wallpapers, they looks very good.  :great:

I like the those starfish, seashell.

The blue light "WinXShell" is cool, but I make it as wallpaper, it is too attention.
AND compare with the Dark one, the "WinXShell" on light wallpaper is too simple.
Is there a version without "WinXShell" word?

Or change to little gray white light as photo viewer.

ila_rendered



slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
Thanks again. It looks very good with UI_Logon. (the blue light effect is cool just for few seconds in LogonUI)

dark wallpaper:
ila_rendered

origin flover wallpaper:
ila_rendered

RXTech

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2018
  • Posts: 74
Glad you appreciate it @slore!  :thumbsup:

Few more with no text as requested (+ original bgs + PSD with all layers):
https://www.upload.ee/files/9960216/WinXShell_Walls.7z.html

BTW., WinXShell is showing desktop icons by default, is there a way to make it run with no desktop icons? (i couldn't find such option in config files)

« Last Edit: May 14, 2019, 02:03:01 AM by RXTech »

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
Glad you appreciate it @slore!  :thumbsup:
Few more with no text as requested (+ original bgs + PSD with all layers)
BTW., WinXShell is showing desktop icons by default, is there a way to make it run with no desktop icons? (i couldn't find such option in config files)

@RXTech
Thanks for the PSD file.
About the default settings of the Desktop, actually here is the option for that.

available options in WinXShell.jcfg:

SectionItemValueDescription
JS_DESKTOPbkcolor[R, G, B]background color of the desktop
wallpaperfile pathspecify the wallpaper image file
wallpaperstyle0|1|2wallpaper style:0-strech(default);1-tile;2-center
viewmodeintegerdesktop view style
viewflagsintegerdesktop view flag
iconsizeintegerdesktop icon size
open_argumentsparamter templatespecify the paramter when click folder on the desktop with built-in file explorer(default:"%s")
3rd_open_argumentsparamter templatespecify the paramter when click folder on the desktop with 3rd file explorer(default:"%s")


default is next flags:
FWF_DESKTOP   = 0x20
FWF_NOCLIENTEDGE   = 0x200
FWF_NOSCROLL   = 0x400
FWF_ALIGNLEFT   = 0x800
FWF_BESTFITWINDOW   = 0x10
FWF_SNAPTOGRID   = 0x4

= 0xE34 = 3636

if you want to set no desktop  icons by default, add next flag.
FWF_NOICONS   = 0x1000

so set next value in your WinXShell.jcfg's JS_DESKTOP section =>

WinXShell.jcfg:

"JS_DESKTOP" : {
    ...,
    "viewflags": 7732,
    ...
}

for more flags, please visit the microsoft document(folderflags).
https://docs.microsoft.com/zh-cn/windows/desktop/api/shobjidl_core/ne-shobjidl_core-folderflags


RXTech

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2018
  • Posts: 74
Worked like a charm!  :thumbsup:
Sorry for not reading the whole thread first!

Thanks a lot @slore!

RXTech

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2018
  • Posts: 74
Hi @slore!

i have more questions if you don't mind please.
Can the start menu be customized? i mean, is there a way to make it flat, looking like this:



Can the color be modified aswell?
« Last Edit: May 25, 2019, 09:45:58 AM by RXTech »

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
Sorry, I can't access i.imgur.com.
Can you use the attachment?

For startmenu, I was make one like Windows 10's.
But without cache the item icon resources, there is performance problem.(2, 3 seconds, not big)
but auto refresh, or some thing else make it more functional, will take too many time, so I stopped it.
Just leave an simple fixed item panel--- UI_Launcher.

Code: [Select]
WinXShell.exe -ui -jcfg wxsUI\UI_Launcher.zip

It can be customize, and put it in QuickLaunch bar is fine.

ALSO, in reply #2, I offered a way to use ClassicShell(Open-Shell) to instead of my simple StartMenu.
It has a lots skins/theme and options to customize.

I think it is better.


De4dm4sterBR

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: May 2019
  • Posts: 3
Hi Slore,

Thanks for your work. i'm trying to hide the default start menu by adding this on my config:




  "JS_STARTMENU":
  {
    "start_icon":"empty",
    "start_padding":8
  }


but if i add it, i cant start WinXShell anymore. it just not open.

What am i doing wrong?

De4dm4sterBR

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: May 2019
  • Posts: 3
Also, there's a way to change the left side text from the basic start menu? (Where it says "Windows PE")

i'm actually trying to replace it just because of that text. If it was customizable, i would be fine with that. I'm not running WinXShell on a PE environment, but on a Hyper-V Core, so i don't really need a start menu with a lot of functions. But it would be nice if i could change that text.

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
@De4dm4sterBR

In winxshell.jcfg, there is a alias section named
“::STARTMENU”, add the options in it.
and make sure your comma is right.

it is json format, maybe you typed bad {, or , .
please check them.



I heard some people use it in Windows Server Core,
firstly know it could run in Hyper V. Thanks for the information.


About the simple startmenu text, actually it is bitmap.
you can use ResHacker to change it.

Next time I will leave only "Windows" for that.

De4dm4sterBR

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: May 2019
  • Posts: 3
Thanks! I was able to change it with reshacker, just removed the Windows PE and it's much better now!!
And yes, it works well on Hyper V Server, it has even less "Standard Windows" components to interact with like standard server core.

But again, thanks for your work, this is really awesome, i spent some days looking for alternative shells that works on Core installations of Windows Server and your solution was the only one that satisfied my needs.

RXTech

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2018
  • Posts: 74
Thanks @slore for your help!  :thumbsup:

As @De4dm4sterBR said about your program, i've also tried other ones but yours is now THE official shell for my winpe's!
Since the flat start menu is on your schedule, i'll wait you have some time to do it.

Also, i've already modified that bitmap with ResourceHacker but the result didn't pleased me, so i reverted back to the original.

As i'm intending to use you shell mostly for winpe, if you change text of that bitmap to just "Windows", i will have no choice but to modify it again to the original "Windows PE"!  :tongue:
"Windows PE" text is more adequate when running in pe mode.

slore

  • WimBuilder
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 664
Don’t worry about the text on startmenu.
WinXShell will always make options for those.
auto, none, or windows or windows PE.
-winpe parameter or detect X drive, I will set it to Windows PE if StartMenu logo_text is "auto".

RXTech

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2018
  • Posts: 74
Thanks a lot @slore!
i'm sure you will cook it the right way!  :thumbsup:

RanCorX2

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: May 2018
  • Posts: 33
looks like slore has made some nice improvements.

can we now use open shell or a newer classic shell build yet?

quick launch appears to be broken as when you drag the divider along to the left, all the icons vanish, also there's no menu on the quick launch bar to select anything.

i never found out how to disable or hide the show desktop icon & the explorer icon on the tray, is that still not possible either?

i like the fact that tclock works and other system icons shows up in the tray now.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2019, 01:57:22 PM by RanCorX2 »

 

Powered by EzPortal